So Much Doctor Who!!

#100DaysOfCrazy

  • #100DaysOfCode – Worked for an hour on my portfolio page. I won’t be finishing it tomorrow but that’s ok.  I’m learning a lot Log here. (Back to not being updated).
  • #100DaysOfWalking – Walked JD for 23:04 and .89 miles. Link here.
  • #100DaysOfSpanish – Today was a just get it done kinda day. Link here.
  • #100DaysofWho – Lots of Who to review tonight!
  • #100DaysOfBlogging – I was really not feeling the blogging tonight. And so I put it off and put it off and now it’s really late and I feel like I’m just writing crap. So enjoy?

New Who: Oh man, I really loved tonight’s episode: The Eaters of Light. Loved, loved, loved. I have not even reached the point where I can look back and be critical. I just loved it to pieces!! I’m not going to get too spoilery I think.

To start, I loved the writing – I haven’t seen Survival, the 1989, 7th Doctor story so I’m not familiar with her work .  Lots of lively conversations, I enjoyed crotchety Doctor, and thought she handled Bill with fantastic charm and warmth. The Doctor would not approve. I love Doctor Who so much and want everyone else to love it so the more/different representation I see on the screen the happier I am. This episode also had some laugh out loud funny moments, especially with Nardal who was put to good use. The Scotland agenda continues and it’s awesome!

Bill continued to grow in this episode and I really adore the premise that they ended up in Roman Britain because she believed one thing about the 9th legion and the Doctor another so he had to prove himself right. Such a Doctor thing to do. She did get herself in to trouble, and then manged to motivate her saviors in to bravery and cooperation – I really liked her interactions with the Romans and thought all the bit players did a fine job.

At times The Doctor seemed not himself as he’s been this season – more season 8ish. He snapped at the young Pict girl and was very short at times. My head cannon says this was because Bill had been missing for some time and he was very worried about her. Although it could just be mad that this girl actually created the problem they were having in the first place. Also, while he saves the day, not a spoiler since this is Doctor Who, his plans get interrupted in a great scene where the young Pict girl, the Romans, and Bill conspire against his wishes. It’s always good to have The Doctor get set back on his heels every once in a while.

So, loved the episode, will probably find flaws some time much later, and can’t wait for next episode – Simm!!

Classic Who: I rewatched all of Planet of Giants while coding and it worked out well. Since I remembered this one pretty well I was able to get a lot of work done while enjoying Doctor Who!

My quick take: Barbara gets sidelined, Ian looks yummy back in his suit, and it’s all very silly fun. The team shows up on a planet after some TARDIS trouble and soon realize they’ve been shrunk and are on Earth. There’s lots of dead insects to frighten the girls and a cat scare that really goes no where. Why introduce the cat as a big menace and then have it walk away, never to return. At any rate, there’s a human plot to manufacture bad pesticides, dead bodies, and Barbara kinda being an idiot.

Barbara was written kinda stupid in the 2nd and 3rd episode. She should know by now not to touch anything, especially after having been warned by The Doctor, yet she gets herself poisoned and then compounds the problem by not telling anyone. I’m not sure what they were doing with her character in this one because even though her actions weren’t smart, they still had her doing things to help the team and figure out the solutions to their problems. Same with Susan really – she was all screaming girl at the beginning but then climbed a drain pipe and helped resolve the plot. Sometimes classic Who and they way they write women can really frustrate me.

All that being said, I do kind of enjoy this story and I’m glad I got to watch it again. The ancillary plot is entertaining enough and there’s a very funny scene where the bad guy thinks he’s disguising his voice just using a handkerchief – I loved that the phone operator was having none of that nonsense! Also, the special effects/set pieces are actually pretty good for this era though the insects did make me giggle a little. Overall an enjoyable three part story.

About LauraDinTX

I am a Texan from a large, crazy, completely awesome family. I am an obsessed, unashamed fangirl for everything from Doctor Who to Marvel to Sherlock. I love reading anything and everything, baseball and playing trivia/board games.
This entry was posted in #100Days, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

