Mars! That is all. Just: Mars!

Updates and then just obscene amounts of gushing.

#100DaysOfCrazy

  • #100DaysOfCode – A very frustrating day – couldn’t get anything to work, not even other people’s code. I’ll try to get it figure it out tomorrow. Log here.
  • #100DaysOfWalking – Walked JD for 23:11. Link here.
  • #100DaysOfSpanish – Practiced on Insane level for 50 XP.  I had some time to kill before meeting the parents at a Mexican restaurant so I thought it appropriate. Link here.
  • #100DaysofWho – New Who!! The Ice Warriors are back and awesome – review below.  Preview = squeeeeeeeeee!! SPOILERS people – seriously.
  • #100DaysOfBlogging – And done!

OMG! How much did I love Empress of Mars??? Sooooooo much!!! I’m going to try to reign in the gushing but I don’t think I’ll be too successful.

I loved everything about this episode, from the opening intrusion into NASA to Bill being Bill to the tense almost end of the cowardly colonel. No explanation for the TARDIS going wonky and stranding the Doctor but I think that’s because Matt Lucas was cast after this episode was shot. I didn’t have a problem with it as I love Bill and the Doctor and only sort of like Nardal.

I liked the idea of the soldiers being pitted against the Ice Warriors being from Victorian times – it was a cool little twist that gave the episode some funny moments and also some really jarring ones when you realize how woefully out-gunned and out-manned they are. Mark Gatiss did a stellar job in giving these men background and character so that you really cared about their stories and how the end played out.  I thought the direction was good as well and I’d like to thank whomever made the decision to back off the sibilant ssssss so that I could actually understand the Ice Warriors.  The acting was great all around I thought – especially Pearl Mackie.

And let me just wax poetic a moment about how much I adore Bill. She’s running a close second to Donna right now as my favorite companion and I think all the writers this season have done a fantastic job of finding her voice and keeping it consistent.  Every week her character learns and grows and does wonderful things to save people/humanity and I want more!  I really hope Mackie isn’t leaving with Capaldi, also awesome, because I need her to stick around and keep being awesome.

One Last Note: I have questions. What does Missy know that we don’t? Why is she asking the Doctor if he’s all right? Is this going to tie in to his regeneration? Is this because of him almost dying in Oxygen? Am I going to have to wait for all these answers for two weeks because next week is definitely another historical – hooray – but doesn’t appear to have Missy? Why did you tease John Sims if he’s not going to show up until the end? I need to know!! I don’t want this season to end because it’s been so brilliant but I want answers.

About LauraDinTX

I am a Texan from a large, crazy, completely awesome family. I am an obsessed, unashamed fangirl for everything from Doctor Who to Marvel to Sherlock. I love reading anything and everything, baseball and playing trivia/board games.
This entry was posted in #100Days, Oh. My. Squeee!, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

